The Music

It was always a rite of passage in my gym to get the bag of music filled with countless CDs to pick what music you wanted for floor music. It meant that you had finally graduated out of the compulsory levels and moved up to the optional levels. I had two optional routines, my first was from Pirates of the Caribbean and the next one was from the movie Mulan Rouge. Both were extremely dramatic and had at least one tempo change. I think the floor music of a girl has so much to do with their personality in addition to their style of gymnastics. Gymnasts who thrive in ballet and whose movements flow should get music that they can show off their dance moves to. Younger girls especially should have fun music, the younger optionals in my gym normally prefer Disney movie theme music. They look cute doing their routine and the music is recognizable which the crowd will love. Those who are more powerful gymnasts and have less fluid movements should get fast and powerful music to build up to their dynamite tumbling passes. The website I found with the most options in the floor routine music world is https://www.floorexpressmusic.com/. This website has countless categories from 20s music to country music. I guarantee your entire optional team will successfully find a couple of songs that they cant wait to choreographer a routine to!

Leave a comment